The Cheetah Girls Were Ahead of Their Time

After feeling nostalgic one day I created a Disney throwback playlist on Spotify to relive my preteen years. That is when I rediscovered The Cheetah Girls. After spending several days overplaying their soundtrack I realized how prevalent their lyrics were to today’s society.

http://bit.ly/2l6OpPN (c) 2017

In the Disney Channel Original Movie The Cheetah Girls the group tackled diversity, feminism and unity. All of which seem to be hot topics since President Trump took office.

First off, the group was made up of four diverse girls. Raven-Symoné and Kiely Williams who are African-American, Adrienne Bailon who is Ecuadorian and Puerto Rican and Sabrina Bryan who is Mexican and Caucasian. According to a 2002 report on Cultural Diversity on Television prime time television was dominated by 80% all white actors. African-Americans made up 15% and Latinos only 2% so it was a big deal to have such a diverse group on Disney Channel in 2003.

We’re from everywhere all around the world
So ya best respect the cheetah girls

Secondly, “Cinderella” is essentially a feminist anthem. In it the group sings about not wanting the fairy tale life story they are raised to believe in where you are always waiting for a man to rescue you. They say they can rescue themselves and even if they need help it will always be equal among both partners.

Don’t need nobody taking care of me
(I will be there) I will be there for him just as strong as he will be there for me
when I give myself then it has got to be an equal thing

“Girl Power” is also a feel-good song to empower girls to believe in themselves no matter what obstacles they are faced with. These two songs are especially prevalent today after the Women’s March on Washington went global. Girl Power!!

Finally, “Together We Can” spreads a message of unity. The cheetahs sing about being able to accomplish anything as a group as opposed to on your own.

Save the human race
Do you think we oughta?
Together we can!

I would love to see Disney Channel put together another musical with a diverse cast that sang about feminism, unity and other important topics in today’s society.

